Kilby Family Creamery

3 Oct

I’m not used to seeing these things ’round my parts.

Until recently, it was quite rare to find a country-music fan in southern New York.  Enter high school summer nights.  I took a trip to Ohio to visit my cousin, Casey.  Casey was everything cool should be whereas I was a big nerd clothed in my older sister’s hand-me-down red Abercrombie and Fitch t-shirt with absolute certainty that because it said “A&F” than I, too, was cool.  During the trip Casey took me to my first country concert, Tim McGraw.  We wore denim skirts, cowboy hats and paisley tank tops.  Somewhere where the Green Grass Grows, the Indian Outlaw from Louisiana converted me to a tractor-loving country music junkie.  I swapped the red t-shirt for a green shirt donned with a No Cow Tipping symbol.

Problem. I had no idea what cow tipping was. And who’d want to knock over that little guy anyway? To this day, I have yet to tip a cow.  Nevertheless, something in me is drawn to the watercolor sunsets and drives across the badlands. While I still sing Kenny and Keith with a twang, my draw quickly evaporates and transforms back to a New Yawk  accent as soon as the banjo slows.

Where am I going with this? I needed exposure to the “country-life” wedged between Kentucky and West Virginia in order to fall in love with the music that’s served as my co-pilot on long-drives, my party anthem, my kareoke classic and my medicine for a broken heart.  In a similar way, I’ve  noticed that something is noticeably vacant from my ice cream making process.  Going to the supermarket and collecting ingredients is so mind-numbing. Just as pizza takes on a new flavor when baked atop the warmth of a Napoli oven, so, too does ice cream become a true comfort food when it’s made with the freshest possible ingredients.

So I went to the motherland.

Earlier this summer, The Baltimore Sun ran a challenge sponsored by the Maryland Department of Agriculture. It encouraged residents to “become an Ice Cream Trail Blazer” by sampling the homemade ice cream  at our state’s creameries. I may be a little late to the punch, but in the words of the great Barney Stinson, “Challenge accepted!” I knew the journey would be legend…wait for it…ihopeyourenotlactoseintolerantbecausethenextwordis…dairy. 

First on my list, the Kilby Family Creamery in Cecil County.  Something about this family-owned and operated farm caught my attention. According to their website, the Kilby’s have been dairying for over 100 years. The Brown family can barely hang Christmas lights let alone tend to livestock.

I made the hour-drive from downtown Baltimore on a Sunday afternoon.  One of those afternoons where the weather’s just beautiful enough to either round out the day on the couch and not feel bad about it or finally make a move for it and do something semi-productive. I like that I lead a life where going to get ice cream is considered fruitful.

Armed with the latest Luke Bryan cd, I savored the moments as the day dragged on and city roads turned to suburbs, suburbs to farmhouses and pavement to dirt.


The farm was like something out of a movie.  Well, for me at least.  I’m used to Target’s and shopping centers and here I was standing in front of cream towers, tractors, and red rocking chairs.  I explored the grounds a little, taking deep breaths of the fresh farm air to cleanse my Charm City lungs.

But then I was hungry.

I wandered over to the creamery.  For a farm 10 miles off any main road, it was bustling with the customers.  It was a no fuss shop and I loved it.  Offering 20 flavors served by the biggest smiles in the state, the Kilby Ice Cream Shop got it right.

I decided on the West Nottingham Rum Tracks described as “White Chocolate Ice Cream with a Raspberry Swirl and White and Dark Chocolate Chips.” Um, twoscoopsmakeitsnappy.  It was divine. Everything was so fresh. And could there be any better place to eat a whole lotta ice cream than sitting on a bale of hay underneath a big blue sky? The only disappointment of the day was coming to the realization that I’m now going to have to drive an hour to Cecil County every time I want some more 🙂

I may have picked up some goodies for the next post’s batch…

Happy scooping.

For more on the Kilby Family Farm: click here

To visit some Maryland creameries yourself: click here

For some twang:  click here

Leave a Reply

